05 April 2012

E is for Margaret A. Edwards Award

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

Named for a notable American Librarian, The Margaret A. Edwards Award is a Young Adult Library Services Association recognition for an author and one of their works that has had a lasting impression on Young Adults and on YA Literature.  It is sponsored by the School Library Journal and was established in 1988. Its purpose is to recognize "an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world."1

Notable Margaret A. Edwards Award Winners:
1998 - Madeleine L'Engle
1999 - Anne McCaffrey
2004 - Ursula K. Le Guin
2007 - Lois Lowry
2008 - Orson Scott Card
2011 - Terry Pratchett
2012 - Susan Cooper

1 http://www.ala.org/yalsa/edwards


  1. That's a great list. I think it's interesting that so many of them are scifi/fantasy writers. I remember being in a seminar once where they noted that while it's hard to be taken seriously as a fantasy writer in adult fiction (even though there's a huge audience for it), writing YA fantasy books brings accolades.

    1. It's rather sad. I don't know why fantasy is considered childish. I don't think creativity and imagination are things we should ever "grow out of", it makes us tired and jaded.

  2. Awesome post! And a great list. And I LOVE the D-award. :)

    Nice to meet you through A-Z!

    1. I loved the D award too! It was so fun filling out a bracket!

      Thanks for coming by!

  3. That's a good list to be on. Four of my all-time favorite authors on that list.

    1. It's a pretty nice one, isn't it? It's a little strange that they've been stacking the sf/f authors recently, but I hope it's a trend they keep up with!

  4. That is an august list. I have read books from all of them.

    I am trying to read all the A to Z blogs, but coming back to the ones I really like.
    Looking forward to seeing what you do all month!

    The Other Side
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

    1. Thanks for visiting. It really is an impressive list, and I'll be watching who they tap this year.