26 April 2012

W is for William C. Morris Award

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

The William C. Morris Award is named for a prominent book marketer who pushed for marketing books to children and young adults.  This award "honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature." 1 A list of five or fewer titles is chosen by a jury of YALSA members, who also chose a winner from the slate.  The award has occurred since 2009, and has honored at least one SF/F book every year, although this is not required.

 Notable Books:
Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson - 2012 Finalist
Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey - 2011 Finalist
Hold Me Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride - 2011 Finalist
Ash by Malinda Lo - 2010 Finalist
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl - 2010 Finalist
Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce - 2009 Winner
Graceling by Kristin Cashore - 2009 Finalist

1 http://www.ala.org/yalsa/morris-award

No comments:

Post a Comment