01 April 2012

A is for Aurealis Awards

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

Established in 1995, the Aurealis Awards recognize Australian Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.  Chimaera Publications convenes a jury of at least three people to look over submissions and choose a finalist list.  Another jury (I believe, the website is a little vague) chooses a winner from the finalists.  Anyone can submit a work through the Aurealis website.  There are a number of categories, and Young Adult has been one of them since the awards' inception. Children's Fiction is a more recent addition. Both of these categories cover works in Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.  Young Adult has Novel and Short Fiction categories, and Children's Fiction has Picture Book and Children's Fiction (Middle Grade).

2011 YA Novel Finalists:
Shift by Em Bailey
Secrets of Carrick: Tantony by Ananda Braxton-­‐Smith
The Shattering by Karen Healey
Black Glass by Meg Mundell
Only Ever Always by Penni Russon

2011 YA Short Story Finalists:
"Nation of the Night” by Sue Isle
"Finishing School” by Kathleen Jennings
"Seventy-Two Derwents” by Cate Kennedy
"One Window” by Martine Murray
"The Patrician” by Tansy Rayner Roberts


  1. Something to aspire for, for any Australian author in the related genres.

    ---Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z

  2. Very cool, informative and something to aspire for. Thx for sharing.

  3. This is really interesting... I've always wondered about these award titles, what they mean. Are you going to do this for everyday?

    1. Every day but Sunday for the rest of the month.

  4. Thanks for such a treasure, Aurora. I'll be following you.

    1. You're welcome :D Nice to see non-US awards get some love.