11 April 2012

J is for James Tiptree, Jr. Award

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

Given at WisCon every year since 1991, the James Tiptree, Jr. Award is named for James Tiptree, Jr., the pen name of Alice Sheldon.  Sheldon wrote science fiction under the Tiptree name for 10 years, winning Hugos and Nebulas for her work, before it was revealed the author was a woman.  In this tradition the award is given to "science fiction or fantasy that expands or explores our understanding of gender". 1  The award includes a winner, an honor list, and a long list of works worthy of attention, chosen by a public jury of editors and authors (as far as I can tell).  Although the award does not specify an age category for its books, nor does it have a YA category, the awards have traditionally not shied away from YA works.

2011 Tiptree Award Recognition:
Beauty Queens by Libba Bray - honor
The Freedom Maze by Delia Sherman - honor
The Shattering by Karen Healey
Huntress by Malinda Lo
Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

2010 Tiptree Award Recognition:
Ash by Malinda Lo

2009 Tiptree Award Recognition:
Ooku the Inner Chambers: Vol 1 and 2 by Fumi Yoshinaga- Winner

1 http://tiptree.org/?see=front_page#TiptreeAward


  1. I'm a big fan of sci fi/fantasy but I've never heard of this award. thanks for introducing it to me!
    Dropping by from the A-Z!

    1. It's a good award to keep your eye on, they always award good books!