14 April 2012

M is for Mythopoeic Award

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

Given out yearly by the Mythopoeic Society, "The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia." 1  The books are nominated by society members at large and decided upon by a committee of society members.  Books are eligible for two years, and series are eligible after the final book has been published.  The children's award has been given since 1992.

Notable Mythopoeic Award Winners:
The Queen’s Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner - 2011
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin - 2010
Graceling by Kristin Cashore - 2009
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling - 2008
Corbenic by Catherine Fisher - 2007
The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud - 2006
A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett - 2005
The Hollow Kingdom by Clare B. Dunkle - 2004
Summerland by Michael Chabon - 2003
The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson - 2002
Aria of the Sea by Dia Calhoun - 2001
The Folk Keeper by Franny Billingsley - 2000

1 http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/


  1. Great theme.

    New follower via A-Z.


  2. I guess I need to come more out of my cocoon as I have only read or heard about 4 of these.