09 April 2012

H is for Hugo Awards

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

Since the 2012 nominees were announced over the weekend I think today is the perfect time to talk about the Hugo Awards.  Named for Hugo Gernsback, the editor of Amazing Stories the Hugo Awards "are awards for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy".1 Although mostly given to adult books,a few notable YA titles have slipped through and been nominated or won since the awards started in 1953.  Books are chosen by a two-tiered process: members of the current WorldCon, as well as the preceding and proceeding WorldCon, nominate books (and stories, movies, etc), then the nominees are collected and the current WorldCon's members vote on the nominations.  The awards are handed out at a special ceremony at WorldCon.

Notable Hugo Novels:
Zoe's Tale by John Scalzi - 2009 nominee
Little Brother by Cory Doctorow - 2009 nominee
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman - 2009 winner
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire - 2001 winner
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - 2000 nominee
Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card - 1986 winner

1 http://www.thehugoawards.org/hugo-faq/


  1. Great theme to pic for the #atozchallenge, sci-fi & fantasy awards! It's so hard to keep an overview of the huge number of awards for all types of books, and this is really helpful. :)

    1. It was hard to choose which awards to highlight, too! There are just so many!

  2. OH! My favorite award! Right up there with one that I'm wondering if it'll show up for N.