13 April 2012

L is for Lambda Literary Award

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

The Lambda Literary Award is given every year by the Lambda Literary Association.  Open to writers of all gender identities and sexual orientations, the award seeks to honor US books based "on literary merit and on significant content relevant to LGBT lives."  There are many categories of books, including LGBT Children’s/Young Adult and LGBT Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror.  Given since 1988, anyone can nominate books, and five nominees are chosen from which a winner is picked (I don't know how, couldn't be found in my research). 

Notable Lambda Literary Award Winners:
Huntress by Malinda Lo - 2012 Finalist
Ash by Malinda Lo - 2010 Nominee
Hero by Perry Moore - 2008 Winner

No comments:

Post a Comment