21 April 2012

S is for Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction

For April I'm Blogging the Alphabet through YA Book Awards!  Find out more Here!

The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (better known as the Skylark Award) is given out by the New England Science Fiction Association, Inc. to someone who "has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late "Doc" Smith well-loved by those who knew him".1 This Award has been given out since1966.  The award is chosen by a vote of the Association members and given out annually at Boskone.  Although the award is for Imaginative Fiction of all ages, the award has been given to more than a few young adult writers.

Notable Skylark Winners:
Sir Terry Pratchett - 2009
Tamora Pierce - 2005
Bruce Coville - 2000
Esther M. Friesner - 1994
Orson Scott Card - 1992
Andre Norton - 1983

1 http://www.nesfa.org/awards/skylark.html

No comments:

Post a Comment